Based on the state you live, drunk driving can be known by many different terms: Driving Under the Influence (DUI), Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), or Operating While Intoxicated (OWI), to name a few. It you’ve ever wonder what happens when you get a DUI, you can be certain that driving drunk leads to major, life-changing penalties and consequences. As a skilled Indiana DUI attorney, we work to minimize the legal ramifications of receiving a DUI conviction. Give us a call at [nap_phone id=”LOCAL-CT-NUMBER-1″] to speak with us today!
What Is A DUI?
While Indiana officially uses the term “operating while intoxicated” (OWI), to most driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, call the offense a DUI. A DUI is commonly called “drunk driving or drugged driving” The term DUI or OWI refers to the operation of a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content is above 0.08% or higher, you’re considered legally impaired in the U.S. In Indiana, the OWI laws prohibit all motorists from operating a vehicle:
- While intoxicated by drugs or alcohol
- With a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more
- With any amount of a schedule I or II controlled substance in their system
Furthermore, in Indiana it is illegal for underage drivers (those under 21 years old) to operate a vehicle with a BAC of .02% or more. If you are arrested for suspicion of DUI, here is what happens when you get a DUI/OWI.
Do You Need An Indiana DUI Lawyer?
Call [nap_phone id=”LOCAL-REGULAR-NUMBER-2″] Now!
A DUI Can Result In A Suspended License
In Indiana, when you get a DUI, your driver’s license will be suspended if you are found to be over the legal limit. State law mandates that you have your license placed on administrative suspension for up to 180 days. This holds true even in cases of a first-time drunk driving offense. Additionally, you could have your license suspended for anywhere from 180 days to 1 year at least, depending upon the ruling of the court. If you ever wonder how long does a DUI stay on your record, in Indiana, a DUI stays on your record for life. Indiana’s point system is also set up to punish drunk drivers, so strict regulations underscore the seriousness of the charge, and any subsequent OWI’s will result in a much longer license suspension.
A DUI Can Result In Time In Fines And Jail
Roughly half of the states in the union demand some amount of jail time with a DUI. In Arizona, a first-time charge comes with an automatic 24 hours in jail; in California, it is four days for a first offense; in Nevada, you will spend either two days in jail, or you may opt for 48 hours of community service instead.
DUI Jail Time
In Indiana, when you get a 1st time DUI/OWI comes with up to 60 days in jail. The offense can become an aggravated DUI if you are arrested with a BAC of 0.15% or more. If you are a repeat OWI offender, the jail time increases exponentially with each infraction. Because that is the case, it is crucial to have an Indiana DUI lawyer protecting your rights and negotiating pleas and punishments.
To Prevent What Happens When You Get A DUI/OWI
If you’ve been pulled over and arrested for suspicion of operating while intoxicated, The Law Office of B.D. Williams, Esq. will provide you with the best legal representation available for your case. Expect us to fight passionately for your best interest. To arrange a free consultation, call [nap_phone id=”LOCAL-CT-NUMBER-1″] today!